HANOISE (Âm thanh Hà Nội) by the Hanoi New Music Ensemble

Two Vietnamese premieres and a World premiere
October 11, 2019, 8pm
Small concert hall, Vietnam National Academy of Music
No.77 Hao Nam str, Dong Da dist,

October 12, 2019, 8pm
Concert Hal, HoChiMinh Conservatory
112 Nguyen Du str, Dist 1
* Conductor: Honna Tetsuji
* Guest artists:
Lucas Fels, Cello
Nina Janßen-Deinzer, Clarinet

* The Hanoi New Music Ensemble
Pham Truong Son, Violin
Dao Mai Anh, Violin
Do Huong Tra My, Viola
Ngo Tra My, Monochord
Pham Tra My, Zither
Pham Quynh Trang, Piano
Lu Manh Cuong, Percussion
Jörg Widmann – Fieberphantasie (1999)
Vu Nhat Tan – Hanoise (2019)
Olivier Messiaen – Quatuor Pour La Fin Du Temps (1941)
Friday night October 11. At the Vietnam National Academy of Music, 77 Hao Nam The Goethe Institute will present a performance by the Hanoi New Music Ensemble with two famous artists: Nina Janßen-Deinzer clarinet and Lucas Fels. by German composer Jörg Widmann and French Olivier Messiaen, this will also be the launch of the latest “HANOISE” (Hanoi Sound) by Vietnamese composer Vu Nhat Tan.

Talented conductor Honna Tetsuji, who has conducted many concerts of Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra VNSO will conduct this night.

Here about Hanoi New Music Ensemble, the first professional group of contemporary music in Vietnam, with the goal of performing the best New music in Vietnam and Internationally.
Composer Vu Nhat Tan is art director and violinist Pham Truong Son is executive director.
Hanoi New Music Ensemble has performed at the Vietnam National Academy of Music in Hanoi, the Manzi Art Space, the French Cultural Institute in Hanoi-L’Espace and the Goethe-Institut. Members of the group include professional music lecturers and teachers, who are professors at the Vietnam National Academy of Music or performing in the Vietnam National Orchestra.

Works in the show also include:
In “Fieberphantasie” from 1999, Jörg Widmann studied the melody of Robert Schumann. He described it as a kind of “fever curve”: “suspense, flickering, steaming” with “a myriad of smaller and bigger wave crests in the big lines”. Symbols include performance points, not containing a specific sound level, but with detailed presentation instructions.
Jörg Widmann (* 1973) is one of the most interesting and versatile artists and composers of his generation …

QUATUOR POUR LA FIN DU TEMPS “Quartet for the end of the age”, the content of the work is also about the end of the world. French composer Olivier Messian finished his work with a total of eight sentences as a prisoner in a prisoner of war camp in Görlitz in Germany …

HANOISE (Hanoi Sound)
Famous composer Vu Nhat Tan extracts and condenses the sounds of the Vietnamese capital into a contemporary musical art work. In cooperation with the Goethe-Institut, Vu Nhat Tan will introduce a new piece written specifically for the string group of Hanoi New Music Ensemble entitled HANOISE (Hanoi Sound). This is an extremely valuable contribution to the treasure of contemporary art in Vietnam. As the name of the work, “Hanoi Sound” reflects the city’s unique atmosphere and mix of colorful sounds: A cultural meeting between East and West through contemporary music.

Information about conductor, artists and program, please go to our website

Link event



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s